During the May 2, 2023, City Commission meeting, Mayor Diana Spielman recognized and honored Haylee McCorgary, Kamryn Mendoza, and Maycee Wolfenbarger as Arkansas City’s Outstanding Student Award scholarship recipients for 2022-2023. The Outstanding Student Award program was started in 1984 when the City Commission implemented the program to recognize students who are outstanding examples of academic and civic excellence in our community. Each year, teachers, staff, and administrators at Ark City Christian Academy, Arkansas City Middle School, Arkansas City High School, and Cowley College are asked to nominate students they think are qualified for this honor.